Market House

Location:Enniscorthy, Wexford
Client:Wexford County Council
Architect:Aughey O’Flaherty Architects

Market House is a significant building in Enniscorthy, with a rich history and prominent location in the centre of the town. The Market House was built circa 1813 as a five-bay two-storey building with a three-bay south elevation. It was extensively renovated after 1908 when a top floor was added to accommodate use as a technical school. It has been the Municipal District offices for Enniscorthy since 1973.

Tom O’Brien Construction were appointed to refurbish this historic building to create a modern civic office whilst reinstating some of the original architectural features and retaining many of the original architectural hallmarks of Market House. The project provides for an improved public area with meeting rooms and improved office workspaces.

To top